Type of sealer and finish for furniture - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 18 Old 04-02-2013, 04:20 AM Thread Starter

View Designhip87's Photo Album My Photos
Type of sealer and finish for furniture

Hi, I'm fairly new to the carpentry/wood working world and was curious as to what y'all might suggest in terms of finishing/sealing a piece of furniture with. I'm building a cherry buffet cabinet and have used lacquer sanding sealers with a paste wax before but I wanted a longer lasting finish than I feel paste wax offers. Also I'm not a fan of the streakiness that the lacquer sanding sealer leaves if not evenly applied in the grain direction. Any suggestions for alternatives would be great. Thanks! I have included a picture of the my current progress.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-1110559151.jpg
Views:	208
Size:	99.1 KB
ID:	67356  

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 18 Old 04-02-2013, 07:19 AM
Old School

View cabinetman's Photo Album My Photos

Do you have the capability to spray a finish...compressor & gun?

post #3 of 18 Old 04-02-2013, 08:55 AM

View Steve Neul's Photo Album My Photos