TS Setup Tools - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 7 Old 02-20-2013, 12:19 PM Thread Starter

View craigwbryant's Photo Album My Photos
TS Setup Tools

As I mentioned in this thread (http://www.woodworkingtalk.com/f2/ho...s-lowes-48617/), I am going to be accquiring a new R4512 in the next week or so (hopefully, still waiting on the IRS to put the tax refund in the bank). Being an engineer, I have a strong belief that setting things up properly is the best way to ensure quality products. This is the first TS I have purchased and I want to get it setup and dialed in properly from the get-go, knowing that doing so will make for better woodworking products and hopefully increase the useful life of the saw. I am looking to pick-up these following setup tools.

Digital Angle Gauge (http://www.woodcraft.com/product/200...gle-gauge.aspx) (to ensure the blade is perpendicular to the table, and to ensure proper bevel angles on future project)

Saw Gauge (http://www.woodcraft.com/product/202...saw-gauge.aspx) (to ensure that the blade and fence are parallel to the miter slots)

Am I missing anything for a good setup? Am I going overboard with the tools? I think they will come in handy for the life of the saw as I would use them any time I change the blade, and would probably do a once or twice a year check to make sure the fence is staying parallel to the miter slots.

Thanks,
Craig
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 Old 02-20-2013, 12:34 PM

View Gilgaron's Photo Album My Photos
The angle gauge is cool for angles, but you don't really need it to check for square when you can just use a combo or speed square.

I just used a combo square for checking for parallel, although somebody posted a jig that used a caliper that looked more precise recently.
post #3 of 7 Old 02-20-2013, 12:39 PM
where's my table saw?

View woodnthings's Photo Album My Photos
I would pass on the last item