Tree house platform (Jumping right in) - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum
 9Likes

post #1 of 23 Old 06-04-2020, 12:08 PM Thread Starter

View Tourless's Photo Album My Photos
Tree house platform (Jumping right in)

Hi Folks,

So I'm working on plans for a tree house and I've never built a deck or platform before. I'm looking at a 10'x10' platform which will be 4' off the ground to the top of the decking. To that end I have a few questions about best practices...

If I'm digesting all my new knowledge correctly I am coming from a place where my posts are cemented into my footings, my beams rest on top of my posts, and my joists rest on top of my beams. Is this the correct, most structurally sound way to build? I've seen pics and plans that seem to place the joists in line with the beams, essentially making it one level. Is that accurate too?

If I'm using 4'x4' posts, 2'x8' for beams, 2'x6' for joists and 5/4"x6" for decking, and I want my deck to be 4' high, I need to subtract the 7.5", 5.5", and 1" to get the height of my post, right?

Assuming the in-line beams and joists, I would only subtract the 7.5" and 1".

Please let me know if I'm on track here and any resources you can point me to about building raised decks or platforms would be appreciated.

Thanks all.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 23 Old 06-04-2020, 12:30 PM

View johnedp34's Photo Album My Photos
I just used a pallet for my son's wish for a platform in a tree.
Worked well and cost nothing.
johnep
post #3 of 23 Old 06-04-2020, 07:48 PM

View kiwi_outdoors's Photo Album My Photos
Its better if the kids build it, then they are vested in it, I see too many tree houses empty 99.9999% of the time

Keep framing simple and avoid joist hangers
Scurvy likes this.

Retired engineer-bureaucrat in Oakland, CA. Been working with wood since the 1960's.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 23 Old 06-04-2020, 09:35 PM
Nine Thumbs

View Shop_Rat's Photo Album My Photos