Total Noob... What router bit do I use? - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 13 Old 01-19-2010, 07:47 PM Thread Starter

View David D's Photo Album My Photos
Question Total Noob... What router bit do I use?

Please forgive my obvious lack of experience here, but I have a question about shortening some old pine cabinet doors. I had to shorten the cabinet above our refrigerator because the refrigerator was too tall. I cut the cabinet in place (not fun at all) and it turned ok, but I need to shorten the doors as well (cutting off bottom). Easy enough, but they have a radius and I know how to determine what size router bit to use. The doors are 3/4" plywood and it looks to be about a 3/8" radius bit was used. Have a look at these pics and let me know what you think. Also, I have an old 1/4" router and wouldn't mind a recommendation for brand/type of bit to use. Thanks!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Resize of Kitchen Cabinet Door.jpg
Views:	3296
Size:	38.9 KB
ID:	13003  

Click image for larger version

Name:	Resize of Kitchen Cabinet Door Edge 3.jpg
Views:	3608
Size:	29.7 KB
ID:	13004  

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 13 Old 01-19-2010, 07:59 PM
MD Custom Furniture

View Gorp's Photo Album My Photos
It looks to me like a half inch round over set to with the bit set to cut in the middle. Only using half the bit to cut. I would use some scrape wood to test the setting and then cut.
post #3 of 13 Old 01-19-2010, 08:17 PM

View knotscott's Photo Album My Photos
Hi David - It might take some trial and error to get it exact, but you might find that close is "close enuff". It looks like the original didn't use the full height of the cutter. I pulled out my roundover set and compared 3/8" & 1/2" radius bits against a 3/4" board, and think that it's more likely the 1/2"...could even be 5/8" but I don't have one to compare....hard to tell from the pic anyway.