Total newbie question about where to get wood - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum
 6Likes

post #1 of 24 Old 11-02-2019, 02:40 AM Thread Starter

View Megacoulomb's Photo Album My Photos
Total newbie question about where to get wood

Hi All! Im a beginner woodworker with the next 2 months off and some projects i want to try and tackle. I am doing all craftsman style furniture. Id like to build a bed, outdoor deck box, a sofa/entry table, and possibly a couch...i know this sounds crazy..but i have access to a full carpentry shop and lots of resources should i need them...

Where should i get wood for these projects? Is lumber from big box stores, woodcraft, or local lumber yards any good to use?

Thanks in advance for any help!

Rob
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 24 Old 11-02-2019, 06:03 AM

View GeorgeC's Photo Album My Photos
First we need to know where you live.

George
post #3 of 24 Old 11-02-2019, 07:09 AM

View jeremymcon's Photo Album My Photos
Yup need to know where you're located! Here in rural central PA there are hardwood mills everywhere! But if you're in Arizona you might need to order online or drive 6 hours.

Don't buy wood at the box stores. They usually only have red oak and poplar, if you're doing Craftsman style you'll probably want to work with some white oak, right? Also that stuff is pre surfaced to 3/4", but then it gets transported and sits, and cups. Can't plane the cup out unless you want it to be less than 3/4". You really want to start with rough lumber if you have a full shop that you can use.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 24 Old 11-02-2019, 08:20 AM
where's my table saw?

View woodnthings's Photo Album My Photos
Let's take this slowly ....

Quote:
Originally Posted by Megacoulomb View Post
Hi All! Im a beginner woodworker

with the next 2 months off

and some projects i want to try and tackle. I am doing all craftsman style furniture.