Top for a desk - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 14 Old 06-27-2017, 06:57 PM Thread Starter

View tlecluyse's Photo Album My Photos
Top for a desk

I recently posted here some plans for my desk build, all is going well and the leg mortise and tenons are all cut and fit. I do however have a question on the top, in my other post i received a recommendation to use a 3/4 oak plywood top with either edge banding or solid oak border, i would like some more opinions on this as i have never done it before? which is the better way and why? Solid jointed wooden top or plywood with solid oak frame. Also what jointing method is recommended for the plywood top to the solid wood frame?

pictures of finished products would help me also
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 Old 06-27-2017, 06:59 PM Thread Starter

Quote:
Originally Posted by tlecluyse View Post
I recently posted here some plans for my desk build, all is going well and the leg mortise and tenons are all cut and fit. I do however have a question on the top, in my other post i received a recommendation to use a 3/4 oak plywood top with either edge banding or solid oak border, i would like some more opinions on this as i have never done it before? which is the better way and why? Solid jointed wooden top or plywood with solid oak frame. Also what jointing method is recommended for the plywood top to the solid wood frame?

pictures of finished products would help me also
sorry forgot the picture (if i was to use plywood and a frame)
Attached Images

post #3 of 14 Old 06-27-2017, 07:11 PM
The Man

View Masterofnone's Photo Album My Photos
It all comes down to personal preference and what you have tools to do. A plywood top with edge banding is quick, cheap, and only needs an iron to apply. Putting a hardwood edge on plywood is more involved, but it gives the illusion of a full hardwood top and you can router it and do all sorts of cool things.