Tool advice - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 8 Old 09-17-2016, 08:33 PM Thread Starter

View ezkaye's Photo Album My Photos
Tool advice

Hi guys. First time post here. Need some advice for a newbie.

I work in a warehouse and I'm making what we call a blind box. It's basically a cabinet with removable shelving that stick out through the front facing doors. These shelves hold selection orders for the employees. The employee grabs a "shelf" and slide it out of the cabinet, causing the order to drop down to the bottom of the cabinet for them to retrieve.

This is my first project and I've had an enjoyable time making it so far. That being said, I've run into a snag. I need to cut the slots in the doors for the shelves to stick out through and I'm unsure of the best way to go about this. The doors will be 30 inches wide by 20 inches tall. I need 3 columns of 9 slots in each door, each slot will be 9 inches wide by 1/4 inch tall, spaced 2 inches apart from each other. My personal tools 0nly consist of a drill, a jigsaw, a circular saw and a very simple ghetto table saw (spare circular saw converted.)

I've tested on a spare panel some plunge cuts with the circular saw, as well as drill and jigsaw method, but these aren't nearly as precise and clean as I'm hoping to achieve. I could probably rent or borrow additional tools to finish up this project but I don't know what to get. I was thinking a miter saw at first but don't believe the saw will be able to accommodate the size of the panel. Would I be able to achieve the precision I need with a router? Any advice is welcome and appreciated.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 Old 09-17-2016, 08:59 PM
where's my table saw?

View woodnthings's Photo Album My Photos
Don't make no sense to me ...

If you pull out a shelf, what happens to the order? Doesn't it just fall onto a the shelf below it?
Why go to all that trouble?
I don't understand the mechanics of the thing...?