Tongue and groove bits...do you have them? - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum
 2Likes
  • 2 Post By GuitarPhotographer
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 Old 11-07-2017, 07:35 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Ron_J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Central PA
Posts: 443
View Ron_J's Photo Album My Photos
Tongue and groove bits...do you have them?

To this point, when I need a tongue and groove joint I make it on the table saw with a dado blade. It takes a bit to set up but I've been able to make some tight joints. I'm thinking of getting a T&G set for my router. Is it worth buying the set, or maybe just use a couple square cuts on the router?

How do you all make your T&G joints?
Ron_J is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 Old 11-07-2017, 08:03 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 25,995
View Steve Neul's Photo Album My Photos
For occasional use I wouldn't bother with the router. For a while I had a job going where I was using a tongue and groove joint a lot so I had a router table set up with two routers with the tongue and groove bits.
Steve Neul is offline  
post #3 of 9 Old 11-07-2017, 08:27 AM
where's my table saw?
 
woodnthings's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: SE, Michigan
Posts: 27,145
View woodnthings's Photo Album My Photos
What are the dimensions?

What are you making flooring? The whole issue with T &G is centering the tongues and grooves on the workpieces..... and you overall thickness must be the same.

On the table saw you take off equal amounts fromn either side using a "one blade" setup. or using a dado set, center them as best you can. It can be a PITA, but once you have the correct setup just... bump and match your test piece.... and don't change anything else!

Same isues on the router table except you are kinda stuck with factory diameters unless you run 2 passes to center the cuts.

The answer to your question will only be as detailed and specific as the question is detailed and specific. Good questions also include a sketch or a photo that illustrates your issue. (:< D)
woodnthings is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 9 Old 11-07-2017, 10:02 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: NW Pa
Posts: 2,952
View TimPa's Photo Album My Photos
I like using a t&g set of router bits. the only critical set up is when switching from one bit to the next so the board edges line up. easy!


I run all of the boards so the bottoms (backs) are facing down on the router table.
TimPa is offline  
post #5 of 9 Old 11-08-2017, 12:52 AM
An experienced novice
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Grants Pass OR
Posts: 322
View GuitarPhotographer's Photo Album My Photos
It really, really helps to have two router tables when running matching pieces, like T&G or stile and rail profiles. I wasted an enormous amount of time setting and resetting for every bit change, until I borrowed a 2nd router table. Mucho easier!
Ron_J and subroc like this.

<Chas>
I'll burn that bridge when I come to it
GuitarPhotographer is offline  
post #6 of 9 Old 11-08-2017, 06:25 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Florida Panhandle
Posts: 12,340
View GeorgeC's Photo Album My Photos
Yes. I do not use very often, but nice to have when needed.

George
GeorgeC is offline  
post #7 of 9 Old 11-08-2017, 08:17 AM
Tool Fanactic
 
WarnerConstInc.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Auburn, In
Posts: 1,899
View WarnerConstInc.'s Photo Album My Photos
I use my moulder or my shaper for shorter runs.

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk
WarnerConstInc. is offline  
post #8 of 9 Old 11-08-2017, 08:36 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: milwaukee, wi
Posts: 1,328
View sanchez's Photo Album My Photos
I have a set of T&G bits as well. I have actually only used them for slot cutting. I think I bought them because they were only a few dollars more than the slot cutter.
sanchez is online now  
post #9 of 9 Old 11-08-2017, 12:21 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Florida Panhandle
Posts: 12,340
View GeorgeC's Photo Album My Photos
Quote:
Originally Posted by WarnerConstInc. View Post
I use my moulder or my shaper for shorter runs.

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk
You are here!! A few days ago someone was worried about you because they had not seen you post in some time.

George
GeorgeC is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to GeorgeC For This Useful Post:
WarnerConstInc. (11-08-2017)
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Glueing V-grooved pine tongue and groove boards Gubbs General Woodworking Discussion 5 06-02-2016 07:56 AM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome