Table saw issue - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 12 Old 11-17-2019, 10:59 AM Thread Starter

View Pistol's Photo Album My Photos
So, I'm still new to woodworking. Wondering if someone here could help. I'm trying to tune my tablesaw. It's not a top dollar saw by any means. Older craftsman. It's not great but it gets the job done. The issue I have is that when making rip cuts, it will start off cutting straight but about half way through the blade will deflect off the line to one side (usually the left) and then come back center near the end of the cut. Essentially it cuts an ever so slight arc. Maybe 1/32" difference between the center and each end. And each end ends up dead on with each other. By marking a line all the way down the cut you can watch it happen.

I've checked the trunion or whatever it's called. The part the blade mounts in. It's all tight and square. The fence is perfectly square to the blade. Riving knife is perfectly in line with the blade. Blade is at a perfect 90 to the table. Blade is brand new and true. Am I missing something?

Last edited by Pistol; 11-17-2019 at 11:02 AM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 Old 11-17-2019, 11:25 AM
No Longer Here

View bob493's Photo Album My Photos
Is the wood jointed properly? If youve legitimately checked everything on the saw, then blade deflection, fence deflection, or improperly jointed wood can cause skewed cuts.

Did you actually check the blade for flatness? Reason i ask is one of my blades recently warped out cutting some super hard exotic woods and threw everything out of whack. Blade "looked ok" until i fully raised it and checked with a square. Was basically cupped forward into the fence.

A good dummy check is to not use your current fence and clamp a straight guide on the left of the blade and attempt a cut that way. Should help narrow things down. Also check the width of the actual saw cut to the kerf of the blade, can also tell some good stories.