Table advice/help! - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 10 Old 10-27-2008, 10:41 AM Thread Starter

View Wise's Photo Album My Photos
Table advice/help!

I am not a proffessional woodworker, nor is it a hobby, I am a DIY kinda guy, but I have a problem involveing wood, so I thought I should ask the experts!

I have a wooden table, it open and closes with (i belive its called tongue and groove) kind of wooden mechenism, on the one side of the table the base of this mechenism has come loose, its an old table and I belive just over time the screws have started to pull out, now my question is what would the best method of "filling" or repairing these holes so I can reattach base to to the table, I know this might be vauge, but I will try and answer any questions!

Thanks so much!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 Old 10-27-2008, 10:44 AM
No Longer Here

View user4178's Photo Album My Photos
Toothpicks and wood glue.
post #3 of 10 Old 10-27-2008, 10:57 AM
Nobody

View BHOFM's Photo Album My Photos
How thick is the top? The best is to drill the old hole
out and epoxy a dowel in the hole and re drill for the
screw.

You need to sand the dowel off flush.

Take care to not drill through the top.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 10 Old 10-27-2008, 11:14 AM
red
Papa Red

View red's Photo Album My Photos
Quote:
Originally Posted by Woodchuck1957 View Post
Toothpicks and wood glue.

This works really well. All you are doing is adding more meat (filling the void) for the screws to hold on to. You can also use wood splinters (heavy duty) to fill the void. Also check to see if the screws are warn. Red

Red
post #5 of 10 Old 10-27-2008, 11:18 AM

View raskgle's Photo Album My Photos
screws

You can use larger screws not longer but larger dia. take old screw for new one . Raskgle.
post #6 of 10 Old 10-27-2008, 12:17 PM
No Longer Here

Quote:
Originally Posted by BHOFM View Post