Swapping 7.5 HP 3 ph. for 5HP single phase - Page 2 - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum
 12Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
post #21 of 28 Old 11-14-2018, 11:22 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
niedermee's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 9
View niedermee's Photo Album My Photos
Quote:
Originally Posted by epicfail48 View Post
Basic thing to check, but most VFDs that ive seen have a knob on the front of the unit to control the frequency output, are you sure that yours is turned up all the way? It could be putting out 230v 3-phase, ust at 25hz instead of the 60hz you need
It's set to 60 hertz.
niedermee is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #22 of 28 Old 11-15-2018, 08:05 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: NW Pa
Posts: 2,887
View TimPa's Photo Album My Photos
have you taken leg to leg voltage readings on the output of the vfd while it is connected to the saw?


can you post the model number of your vfd?
TimPa is offline  
post #23 of 28 Old 11-16-2018, 01:39 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
niedermee's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 9
View niedermee's Photo Album My Photos
Quote:
Originally Posted by TimPa View Post
have you taken leg to leg voltage readings on the output of the vfd while it is connected to the saw?


can you post the model number of your vfd?
We found out that the leads to the override switch had come off inside the switch housing and likely arced when we first plugged it in, thereby shorting out the 6v. power supply that monitors the arbor and brake system. Without that, nothing will work. New power switch was $150 from SawStop and comes in Tuesday.

I'll try to post the vfd model tomorrow. We are also still trying to replace the power supply, as the manufacturer is listed on the component along with the part number, but buying one may the tricky part.
niedermee is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #24 of 28 Old 11-16-2018, 01:53 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
niedermee's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 9
View niedermee's Photo Album My Photos
Vector Control CNC VFD Variable Frequency Drive Controller Inverter Converter 220V 7.5KW 10HP For Spindle Motor Speed Control HUANYANG GT-Series (220V, 7.5KW).
niedermee is offline  
post #25 of 28 Old 11-19-2018, 02:46 AM
Ancient Termite
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Huntington Beach, California
Posts: 508
View NoThankyou's Photo Album My Photos
Just a dumb question here: You do have a neutral leg wired in, right?

Rich
In furniture 1/32" is a Grand Canyon
NoThankyou is offline  
post #26 of 28 Old 11-20-2018, 09:06 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
niedermee's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 9
View niedermee's Photo Album My Photos
Quote:
Originally Posted by NoThankyou View Post
Just a dumb question here: You do have a neutral leg wired in, right?
Truth be told, I have an electrician friend helping me who does contract work for Ball. He helps them set up their automated equipment, so I assume he knows what he's doing. I ask him everyone's questions and I post his responses. I will ask him yours. The new switch arrives today.
niedermee is offline  
post #27 of 28 Old 10-16-2019, 11:26 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 1
View sgttruck21's Photo Album My Photos
Help

Quote:
Originally Posted by niedermee View Post
Truth be told, I have an electrician friend helping me who does contract work for Ball. He helps them set up their automated equipment, so I assume he knows what he's doing. I ask him everyone's questions and I post his responses. I will ask him yours. The new switch arrives today.
niedermee - Did you ever get your SS up and running using a VFD??? I am in the same boat you were and this is the only post/discussion that even comes close to someone actually trying to do this.

Please contact me asap and let me know. email me at [email protected]

Thank you!!!

Adam
sgttruck21 is offline  
post #28 of 28 Old 10-16-2019, 12:39 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 409
View Larry Schweitzer's Photo Album My Photos
I think you will find that the motor on the Unisaw has a non-standard mounting.
Larry Schweitzer is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Single phase vs three phase controllers lukebarber Power Tools & Machinery 3 05-10-2018 06:45 PM
120/240 single phase motors in a 3 phase shop Brian(J) Power Tools & Machinery 3 08-21-2016 11:44 PM
3 phase motor with single phase power Chuck Feathers General Woodworking Discussion 31 06-24-2016 09:31 PM
Three phase table saw to single phase? cck Power Tools & Machinery 8 03-03-2016 08:10 PM
Converting an old Delta unisaw from 3ph power to single phase G_P_K Power Tools & Machinery 12 12-27-2015 07:37 AM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome