still learning - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 4 Old 07-09-2015, 04:00 AM Thread Starter

View GrizzlyHeart's Photo Album My Photos
still learning

im very new to woodworking but its not a hobby its a way of life im hoping to get into carpentry eventually, but im still very new to it, so tell me something. what's the difference between stain,varnish,finish,sealer

like say I use tung oil what is that considered, and what are the others and what are they for?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 4 Old 07-09-2015, 05:50 AM
Really underground garage

View BWSmith's Photo Album My Photos
Grizzly,there's a cpl excellent books that have been around for about 10 or so years that will put your questions/answers into.....about as logical and concise of a format as can be had.Flexner is one I have and can't think of the other.....they'll turn up quick on a book search.

The "issue" with finishing is,like certain other trades/crafts/disciplines,it is open for interpretation.Hence the book referring above(nice formats).Put two well adj sprayguns(brushes,rags,etc)in the hands of two well seasoned finish guys/gals and you can get two different outcomes.This is NOT a bad thing.In fact,it's one of those "signature" items that makes each of them special.

Then there's the chemistry side of it.One of my sons is a chem PHD,and he'll be the first to say that even in chemistry like I said above,is open to interpretation.Change one tiny....seemingly insignificant part of the process and what was a discussion now becomes an argument.

Get a book,and pick something easy to practice on.Freeby,discarded or unwanted furniture is hard to beat.Scraps are usually recommended and I won't argue....but sometimes you need a larger pallet to practice on.In spraygun world,I tell everyone to just start spraying everything in your shop.Even the trashcan could use some ghost flames.....airbrush the litter box.If it isn't nailed down,shoot it,haha.Best of luck,BW