Start over? - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By John Garcia

post #1 of 13 Old 05-20-2020, 07:02 AM Thread Starter

View John Garcia's Photo Album My Photos
Send a message via AIM to John Garcia Send a message via MSN to John Garcia Send a message via Yahoo to John Garcia
Start over?

Newbie here. I'm building a huge arbor for my yard. Everything worked out well until I got to the curves. I cut the curves out OK, but I didn't notice in the plans that the curves required a short 3 1/2 inch straight section on the bottom that attaches to the beams. Should I simply add the 3 1/2 inch straight section as you see in the photo (for illustration purposes only). I could attach them with dowels or biscuits or screws then attach the entire section with metal brackets (or any other ideas out there). Or should I just recut the curves correctly with the straight piece. I'm concerned with weight and strength. I'm in Florida and we have high winds sometimes and almost surely my wife will foster vines throughout the arbor. I am in isolation so I have the time and the wood. It's been a good learning experience. Thanks for all suggestions.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	curve.jpg
Views:	11
Size:	236.2 KB
ID:	389723  

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 13 Old 05-20-2020, 08:18 AM
Wood machinist

View difalkner's Photo Album My Photos
How thick is the wood, John? I can't tell from the photo. Is it thick enough to dowel? Can you use a backer board to join the two, let it overlap a couple of inches onto both pieces? If so, you could use SS screws and TB III glue to join the two.

David

David

Curly Wood Shop on Etsy
David Falkner - Woodworking YouTube channel and Instagram
Our music at church - current videos Airline Baptist BC Facebook Live
Romans 3:23
post #3 of 13 Old 05-20-2020, 08:46 AM Thread Starter

Send a message via AIM to John Garcia Send a message via MSN to John Garcia Send a message via Yahoo to John Garcia