Staining pine (Whitewood) for exterior use - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 3 Old 08-09-2015, 12:30 AM Thread Starter

View FFWoodworker's Photo Album My Photos
Staining pine (Whitewood) for exterior use

I'm fairly new to woodworking with the exception of a few random projects here and there (headboard, nightstands, etc). I have recently built myself an Adirondack chair from plans I found in a book and a few people have expressed interest in having me make some for them. In order to keep my cost down for my original chair, I purchased all whitewood pine and finished it using countersunk deck screws covered with plugs. I finished the project with Olympic Elite "Mountain Cedar" stain/sealer. Water beads off of it quite nicely, in my opinion.
Now, having said that, I have since learned that pine is obviously not a proper choice for outdoors use (I knew this but was keeping my initial cost down since I didn't know how the first would turn out). I have also learned about wood conditioner, other choices of wood, etc. My question is this: