4Likes
  • 1 Post By ducbsa
  • 1 Post By Ravic5
  • 1 Post By IowaDave
  • 1 Post By Maylar

post #1 of 12 Old 04-06-2018, 12:17 AM Thread Starter

View Ravic5's Photo Album My Photos
Spacing between boards for table top

Hi. I'm brand new to woodworking, and my first project is an outdoor patio table.

I'm following a plan, and instructions say if the table will be used outdoors, to space the boards 1/4" apart to allow for drainage. I'm assuming that's good advice, but I've seen many plans that don't follow this advice.

I'm building it out of cedar, live in NJ (rough winters) and plan to stain and seal it (open to recommendations).

Thoughts on spacing the boards? Thanks.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 Old 04-06-2018, 12:28 AM

View Brian T.'s Photo Album My Photos
1/4" is plenty for melt and for rain run-off. You need the spacing to sweep the crumbs into.
If you've got no winter use for it, stand it on end in a shelter and fling a tarp over it until spring comes again.

The other thing that I did was to make half a dozen unfinished tables about 4' x 4' out of freight pallets with extra sticks in between.
I can assemble several of those in a modular fashion for any purpose (picnic, stone carving, etc).
Fresh new pallets are built just down the road so we never have a shortage!
post #3 of 12 Old 04-06-2018, 06:20 AM

View ducbsa's Photo Album My Photos
I didn't treat my cedar table at all and it was outdoors for over ten Minnesota winters and did fine.
35015 likes this.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 12 Old 04-06-2018, 08:18 AM Thread Starter

Quote:
Originally Posted by Robson Valley View Post
1/4" is plenty for melt and for rain run-off. You need the spacing to sweep the crumbs into.
If you've got no winter use for it, stand it on end in a shelter and fling a tarp over it until spring comes again.

The other thing that I did was to make half a dozen unfinished tables about 4' x 4' out of freight pallets with extra sticks in between.