Some Help From the Woodworkers Who Shoot Guns? - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum
 15Likes

post #1 of 27 Old 07-04-2017, 01:20 AM Thread Starter
Complete Noob

View Wildflower308's Photo Album My Photos
Question Some Help From the Woodworkers Who Shoot Guns?

Hey guys. I need some suggestions. I went to the firing range today and was talking to my shooting buddies about building us our own custom target board/holder. See, my friend was shooting an 8MM Mauser and I had my Garand (30-06). We tore up that firing range and destroyed the supplied steal targets and paper target holders. There was broken chain and rubber bungee all over the place, and we were constantly calling the range cold to run across the field to get the targets up off the ground.

I thought it would be good to make something - one for each of us, probably - that dug into the ground for stability, but maybe had a stronger spring at the base so it won't fall completely and come back, but fall part way to take the blows coming at it. This way, maybe we can reduce the amount of running across the field we do and shorten the end of session range repair at the end.

Now, I can build the target holder, that isn't a problem. I'm not going for fancy, as it will most likely need to be left behind at the range, which means everyone is going to use the darn things and I'll have to do repairs as needed when I get up there (plus, we're going to tear them apart ourselves). What I need assistance with is the spring action. How would I go about installing that? My one friend kept talking about welding, but I'm hoping to not go that route. I want to do all wood other than the spring. I need the thing to be strong enough to hold up to his Mauser, as it is the rifle he brings most often. And it has to handle a lot of other military surplus and hunting rifles of various calibers.

Any ideas? Thanks!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 27 Old 07-04-2017, 04:08 AM
where's my table saw?