Shop setup-New Tool Addition - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum
 3Likes
  • 3 Post By GSXRFanIM

post #1 of 4 Old 11-05-2019, 10:12 AM Thread Starter

View GSXRFanIM's Photo Album My Photos
Shop setup-New Tool Addition

Well, I am excited to announce that I pulled the trigger on the Dewault 735x Planer/mobile stand combo that is on sale at Rockler.
It should be showing up sometime this weekend and my garage shop IS NOT READY...
So I have been working with two 15A circuits in my garage for 10 yrs now and since I upgraded my table saw, added a shop vac dust collector system, added a bandsaw it has been pushing the limit.
Blowing the breaker on occasion.
So I decided to pull new 12/2 wiring but I have to take it thru an existing conduit that runs about 25 ft under concrete. That was fun but got it thru and got it to the main panel.
This is a small garage (12.5x22). Now the fun part is replacing all the 14 gauge in the garage with 12.
I have to pull OSB panels off the walls to get the wiring run where they need to go and my garage is compact an full.
I will have my LED lights on 20A as well because I have a nice quad outlet above head to run tools from above. Might be overkill but didnt want to worry about having a mix of cabling.
Its a lot of work but super excited to get a nice new power tool
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 4 Old 11-05-2019, 10:43 AM

View DrRobert's Photo Album My Photos
I would suggest using surface mount conduit. I've used a lot of armor flex in my shop. Yes, its more expensive than romex, but the time saving is huge compared to fishing wires and certainly tearing walls apart.

Aside from that, you can locate outlets wherever you want and in future you can modify/add to any circuit quite easily.

But once the wires are buried in the wall, you're stuck with what you've got.

Something to consider......
post #3 of 4 Old 11-05-2019, 05:09 PM Thread Starter

View GSXRFanIM's Photo Album My Photos
Quote: