Shiplap attachment question - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 10 Old 09-07-2015, 03:55 PM Thread Starter

View ibrewster's Photo Album My Photos
Send a message via Skype™ to ibrewster
Question Shiplap attachment question

So I'm working on building a bookcase out of quarter-sawn white oak (mostly), and for the back I'm doing shiplap, partly because I've never done it before and wanted to try the technique, partly because I like the way it looks, and partly because I just don't like plywood :-)

At any rate, I'm running into a slight difficulty trying to decide how to attach the pieces. My thinking so far has been as follows:

First thought: Just run a bead of glue around the edges, maybe add some nails to "clamp" them in place, and call it good. That's what I did with plywood.

BUT WAIT!!! This is solid wood, not plywood, and the whole point of shiplap is to allow the boards to expand and contract freely while maintaining a good look. If I glue all the way around the edges, they can't move. Bad idea.

So on to thought two: One small drop of glue (and maybe a brad nail) top and bottom center of each board. This would allow the boards to expand outward from center.

My concern with that is strength: this is the back of a bookcase. People are doubtless going to be slamming books against the back and the like. Would the rather minimal attachment point hold up to that kind of abuse?

Then, too, is the fact that the wood is quarter-sawn. I seem to recall something about quarter-sawn wood being more stable. Maybe I don't need to worry about expansion and contraction so much?

At that point I just figured I'd let more experienced minds than mine answer the question. So: what is the best/proper way to attach a ship-lap back to a bookcase?

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 Old 09-07-2015, 05:07 PM
Village Idiot

View epicfail48's Photo Album My Photos