Setting up table saw for a beginner - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 11 Old 06-15-2015, 03:07 PM Thread Starter

View Rileysan's Photo Album My Photos
Setting up table saw for a beginner

Hi all.

I am a beginner to the world of word-working - at least in the finer points of the trade. I can build a house from the ground-up, but would never dream of making my own cabinets.

That said, my family thinks I can do anything, so I'm going to "wing-it" by starting a new project for my 14-y-o daughter. She wants the outside wall in her bedroom turned into a library complete with window seat.

We have numerous ideas gleaned from Pinterest so I'm almost ready to begin. My biggest hurdle-to-date has been the table saw. This past weekend, I found a good deal on a Hitachi C10RA2 10-Inch Portable Table Saw that is mounted to a custom-made rolling cabinet ($100!). I need to true-up the surface of the table top, which also has a cut-out for a router (his was a Craftsman, mine is Porter Cable - hoping mine will mount ok), and shim the saw so the deck is flush with the cabinet's top, but my biggest concern is the fence.

What recommendations do members have for mounting a fence? Should I make my own, or buy one aftermarket? Personally, I dislike the stock fences on most table saws (and their single clamp design).

What about the blade? I assume I should manually check camber and toe before making my first cut.

Keep in mind, I am a journeyman millwright and have considerable experience with industrial machinery - except I work with steel, et al.

Thanks for your input!

Brian

Last edited by Rileysan; 06-15-2015 at 03:21 PM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 Old 06-15-2015, 04:01 PM

View woodchux's Photo Album My Photos