A 'screw'y question... - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 10 Old 05-19-2011, 06:40 AM Thread Starter

View DaveKub's Photo Album My Photos
Question A 'screw'y question...

Good morning! I'm new to both this forum and to woodworking. I haven't built anything since I was a kid (I'm mid-40's now). I've recently gotten interested in trying my hand at building stuff out of wood. So I've got a really 'newbie' kind of question...

I decided to build an outside planter-box from plans in a book. So, I made a parts list and went shopping. I'm having a hard time finding the screws! It calls for #6x2" and #6x2.5" galvanized flathead wood screws. This is an old book; has terminology/products changed? Or am I just not looking in the right places? I've looked at Lowe's, Home Depot, Wal-Mart, and True Value. Came close at True Value! They had boxes of screws labeled as 'galvanized flathead wood screws', but nothing smaller than #9. Is there some other type of screw I can use in place of galvanized? Alot of the lumber in the project is pressure-treated.

Thanks!
Dave
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 Old 05-19-2011, 08:10 AM
Not so new

View 12penny's Photo Album My Photos
Dave...screws have come a long way. Deck screws arent galvanized anymore, but have a ceramic coating. The problem will be getting a #6. As you pointed out most are #9. They should be fine to use though you may need to predrill because of the larger diameter.

You could also try stainless steel screws. SS trim screws are smaller in diameter and come in a few different lengths.
post #3 of 10 Old 05-19-2011, 08:17 AM
Old School

View cabinetman's Photo Album My Photos
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 10 Old 05-19-2011, 10:03 AM

View verdesardog's Photo Album My Photos