Sawdust-what to do with it? - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 16 Old 01-21-2008, 10:05 PM Thread Starter
Kap

View Kap's Photo Album My Photos
Sawdust-what to do with it?

I'm fairly new to woodworking and haven't really been generating massive amounts of sawdust till I got a planer for christmas.

I don't anticipate going crazy, but still...what do you do with a 40 gallon trash can full of sawdust?

it's not all clear wood either, as i cut a lot of treated wood in the regular course of my jobs and just tinkering the house.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 16 Old 01-22-2008, 07:51 AM

View yank's Photo Album My Photos
If there are a lot of treated wood in your shavings, bag it up and let it go in the trash.
I usually put my shavings aroung the trees in the yard, and in the flower beds. Works good for mulch,, I use some of it in my garden plot also in the fall, and till it in, by spring it is all decomposed.

Wayne

My father was my inspiration for woodworking, wish he was still around for more advice. Luv ya Dad.
post #3 of 16 Old 01-22-2008, 09:16 AM

View Hoosier's Photo Album My Photos
My neighbor takes mine and uses it for bedding for his dogs. But I don't work with treated.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 16 Old 01-22-2008, 04:17 PM
johnep

View johnep's Photo Album My Photos
Understand you can buy a press which will make logs for the fire from it,
johnep
post #5 of 16 Old 01-22-2008, 06:38 PM
Andrew Close

View aclose's Photo Album My Photos
but you may not want to do that with the treated sawdust you mentioned...
post #6 of 16 Old 01-23-2008, 09:08 AM

View dusty2's Photo Album My Photos
We give it to the local horse owners. They use it for bedding. A word of caution though, they won't or shouldn't use walnut shavings as they cause hoof infections.
post #7 of 16 Old 01-23-2008, 12:20 PM

View Nancy Laird's Photo Album My Photos