Saw Stop Operation and Dust Control System Question - Page 2 - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
post #21 of 27 Old 10-31-2019, 03:12 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 15
View Nicholas Royer's Photo Album My Photos
Quote:
Originally Posted by regesullivan View Post
Glad I was able to give you some ideas!

Just for the fun of it here is a voltage drop calculator to play with. It doesn't allow enough parameters to it use for your installation but gets you close enough to help understand what is going on with long runs.

https://www.calculator.net/voltage-drop-calculator.html

Glad you have an electrican doing this kind of work and are concerned enough to have it done properly. Lots of guys would be running extension and wonder why the motor burned up in a year or why the house caught fire when they were busy in their shop.
Two things.

1st, I'm curious because I just bought an old Craftsman saw that I can change to 240v if I would see a power improvement. I know it uses 2 120v wires from the house, but does it then use 7.5 amps from each to give me the 7.5 amps of 240v it claims?

2nd, I have a little Craftsman saw that only has like a 2.5" DC port that I run without DC all the time. My allergies suffer, but the saw is fine. Only way I would see anything happening is if your saw was totally sealed or something. Being a sawstop it may be more sensitive to dust because of the electronics, but that would surprise me if they didn't fix that problem in the design stage.
Nicholas Royer is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #22 of 27 Old 10-31-2019, 09:20 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: N. Strabane PA (South of Pittsburgh)
Posts: 264
View regesullivan's Photo Album My Photos
You're correct, running 240v uses power from both hots coming into your house, 120 only uses one of the hots. 240v cuts the amps in half because you get them from two alternating sources.

I'm not sure I understand the second question. I can tell you from my experience any dust collection is better than none. Also, using the best "hepa" filter makes a difference where allergens are concerned. They are expensive but last for years if used with disposable vac filter type bags.
regesullivan is offline  
post #23 of 27 Old 10-31-2019, 11:22 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 15
View Nicholas Royer's Photo Album My Photos
Quote:
Originally Posted by regesullivan View Post
You're correct, running 240v uses power from both hots coming into your house, 120 only uses one of the hots. 240v cuts the amps in half because you get them from two alternating sources.

I'm not sure I understand the second question. I can tell you from my experience any dust collection is better than none. Also, using the best "hepa" filter makes a difference where allergens are concerned. They are expensive but last for years if used with disposable vac filter type bags.
Sorry, the second part wasn't a question, it was a comment to the OP about his original question.

Thanks for the advice on the hepa filter. I have one on my shop vac but no bags. Good to know.

Unfortunately, I don't have the space or money for a real DC in my shop. One day maybe...

Last edited by Nicholas Royer; 10-31-2019 at 11:28 AM.
Nicholas Royer is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #24 of 27 Old 11-01-2019, 01:23 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Pahrump (las Vegas) Nv.
Posts: 52
View wjfeeney@hotmail.com's Photo Album My Photos
Hi Nicholas. I was mainly concerned being new to an expensive piece of equipment that is designed to use DC would sawdust or some plexiglass that I'm going to have to saw right away find it's way into areas hard to get to with a shop vac hose or wand after the fact.
It's not totally sealed but is an enclosed cabinet so I think I was just being very (overly?) cautious.
post #25 of 27 Old 11-01-2019, 03:23 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 15
View Nicholas Royer's Photo Album My Photos
I understand what you mean. That is probably the most complex and technical saw on the market. It MAY have a problem, but I seriously doubt it. My art class has one and if it can survive 5 or so years there, it should be fine with a few plywood cuts! (They cut knotty wood, plastic, and aluminum on a regular basis on that saw. It has DC, but if any of that was going to cause a problem it would have by now.)
Nicholas Royer is offline  
post #26 of 27 Old 11-01-2019, 11:18 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 2,088
View Tool Agnostic's Photo Album My Photos
Why not contact SawStop, ask them, and end the suspense?

https://www.sawstop.com/company/contact-us
Tool Agnostic is online now  
post #27 of 27 Old 11-02-2019, 02:06 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Pahrump (las Vegas) Nv.
Posts: 52
View wjfeeney@hotmail.com's Photo Album My Photos
Lol, I did kinda. Talked to the dealer and they said should be no problem. Thanks all, I appreciate all the feedback.

BillF
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome