Saw Blades.... What do you use - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 9 Old 04-20-2011, 10:49 AM Thread Starter

View elks's Photo Album My Photos
Saw Blades.... What do you use

I am needing to get a couple saw blades. Since this is my first time buying I need some help.

I need a 5/8 arbor 10" blade for my delta table saw. The use of the blade is typically either Ripping Plywood, MDF etc. Or ripping to width when squaring mapple, mahogany, alder, pine etc.

I also need a new blade for the Compound Miter Saw. 5/8 Arbor, Cross Cutting 2x4, and hardwoods Primary Use.

Also Need a new Blade for the Radial Arm Saw, It is primarily a rough cross cut for rough length on squaring lumber. It is used to cut hard woods and all our thicker boards.

Also I am just now reading up on blade types, etc. What should I get for a fine cutting blade on the table saw? Thanks a bunch I need to order this studd by Friday or I loose the money.

PS this is in my high school shop. So durability and cost are some factors to consider.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 Old 04-20-2011, 10:53 AM
Thumb Nailer

View dbhost's Photo Album My Photos
FWIW, The Diablo line from Freud has proven to be an excellent choice. For the table saw, a 40T General purpose blade would suit your needs, and for the miter saw the 80T crosscutting blade. I will refrain from recommending a blade for any RAS as those have specific requirements, which I am not sure what they are, but I know an incorrect blade on an RAS can be dangerous...

Interested in my woodworking, workshop and whatnot? See http://daves-workshop.blogspot.com, want to see my other interests such as hunting, fishing, off roading, and camping? See http://wildersport-outdoors.blogspot.com
post #3 of 9 Old 04-20-2011, 11:02 AM

View Taylormade's Photo Album My Photos
+1 on the Diablo line. I used the 24T for ripping hardwoods and the 1040x for general use on the table saw. I have used the 44 and 84T blades on my sliding CMS (12").