saw blades - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 5 Old 12-23-2010, 09:17 AM Thread Starter

View Stilts's Photo Album My Photos
saw blades

Hello, this is my first try here. Just wondering if anyone has heard of ridge carbide saws. I was thinking about buying one for my mitre saw but I'm wondering if it would be a waste of money. My goal would be to eliminate the chipout that has been happening. Thanks.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 Old 12-23-2010, 09:47 AM
No Longer Here

View rrbrown's Photo Album My Photos
I use Freud blades not the Diablo line but I heard they were good also for the price. They have a ultra fine 80 tooth blade that gives a nice cut and it's also available in similar Diablo blade.

I have the Freud Premier/ Fusion on my table saw which is probably in the same conversation as the Woodworker II and the Ridge TS2000 evidently. I think it was well worth the money for a table saw. It may be worth it for you Miter saw depending on what your using it for, Me I would find a less expensive alternative. I think I spent $50 on my RAS blade but its for cross cutting and I didn't need another $100 blade for that.

Last edited by rrbrown; 12-23-2010 at 10:13 AM.
post #3 of 5 Old 12-23-2010, 09:54 AM
SS user

View Gene Howe's Photo Album My Photos
My choice for a great miter saw blade is the Tenryu W-25580CB1. And, it's a bit less expensive than the Ridge blade.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 5 Old 12-23-2010, 12:06 PM

View dodgeboy77's Photo Album My Photos
My 2 cents - I use a Freud Diablo D1080X, 80 tooth on my miter saw. Crosscuts on hardwoods come off looking polished and I have no chip-out problems. I am totally happy with this blade. It's $50 at your local big box store and about $45 online.

Bill
post #5 of 5 Old 12-23-2010, 04:39 PM

View knotscott's Photo Album My Photos