Saving a Used Mango Dining Table - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By Tony B

post #1 of 4 Old 09-10-2019, 03:23 AM Thread Starter

View Matt_S's Photo Album My Photos
Saving a Used Mango Dining Table

New to the forum so hi all

The main reason for joining (before I started looking through the projects and feeling like I can take on the world of woodwork) was to ask about a mango dining table I have rescued from going on the scrap heap (Mantis range of Oakfurnitureland. com)

Originally I was going to take on making a 'rustic scaffold board table top' but my Gran was throwing this out so I offered to have it. I love the chunky style and varying colours but the only problem is there are a few 'dinks' and 'scratches' that are on the wrong side of 'character'.

Now for my admissions, I am a complete novice and have DIY skills and tools rather than expertise and machinery. However I do have willingness. If it goes wrong it goes in the bin, but I'd like to try and recover it if I can, even if it just teaches me a few tips and tricks.

So after waffling on, what are the experts opinions on where I can start? I'll upload pics of it's current state shortly.

The finish is 'Natural Solid Mango (Light)' with a 'Durable Wax Finish' quoted from the website.

thanks in advance for any advice
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 4 Old 09-10-2019, 04:35 AM Thread Starter

View Matt_S's Photo Album My Photos
Images of the current state of the table top.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG-20190910-WA0001.jpg
Views:	8
Size:	449.3 KB
ID:	378585  

Name:	IMG-20190910-WA0000.jpg
Size:	499.5 KB
ID:	378587  

Name:	IMG-20190910-WA0002.jpg
Size:	384.0 KB
ID:	378589  

Name:	IMG-20190910-WA0003.jpg
Size:	483.8 KB
ID:	378591  

Name:	IMG-20190910-WA0004.jpg
Size:	458.7 KB
ID:	378593  

Name:	IMG-20190910-WA0005.jpg
Size:	391.8 KB
ID:	378595  

post #3 of 4 Old 09-10-2019, 06:01 AM

View Tony B's Photo Album My Photos