4Likes
  • 2 Post By difalkner
  • 1 Post By Tony B
  • 1 Post By Labow

post #1 of 13 Old 04-27-2019, 11:25 AM Thread Starter

View Labow's Photo Album My Photos
Sanding time?

Hi everyone,

I'm pretty new to working with slabs, and to sanding to a very high finish. I've been working on a piece, and once I'm done (or think I'm done) I keep finding scratches in the surface. I知 trying to get an idea of how long people sand for? I realize there are a lot of variables that would determine how long a piece needs to be sanded, but I'm just looking for a reference point.

For example, how long would people expect to sand the piece in the picture? It's a 31" round piece of redwood. I sanded it with my belt sander with 60 and 120, then switched to my orbital sander and did 60, 80, 100, 120, 150, 180, 220, 350, 400, and 600. I figure with the orbital I sanded for about 15 mins with each grit. I only used one disc for each grit for the most part.

Does this sound like a reasonable amount of time? or should I be sanding longer?
Should I be switching out my discs more often?
I would guess that at the higher grits I should be sanding for longer? Not sure if this is true.
Is it possible to sand too much?

Like I said, I understand that sanding time will depend on the wood, the sander, moisture content (I would guess?), and I'm sure a lot of other factors that I don't even know about, but I'm just trying to see if I'm in the ballpark with what I'm doing now. Thanks

Name:  B89062AC-D333-4F0A-8272-FE4B13A3BAB9_1556378696581.jpg
Views: 70
Size:  477.5 KB

Last edited by difalkner; 04-27-2019 at 12:08 PM. Reason: replaced link with photo
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 13 Old 04-27-2019, 12:12 PM
Wood machinist

View difalkner's Photo Album My Photos