Rustoleum Kona Ultimate Wood Stain- Oil or Water based? Clotch cleanup? - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 9 Old 04-06-2013, 12:34 AM Thread Starter

View brandall's Photo Album My Photos
Rustoleum Kona Ultimate Wood Stain- Oil or Water based? Clotch cleanup?

I've been using Rustoleum Ultimate Wood Stain, Kona color, on two projects I'm working on. I'm very very happy with the results. Great color.

http://www.lowes.com/pd_127601-90-26...ductId=3400340

But I can't seem to find anywhere whether it's a water or oil based stain? It has a label drying time of about an hour or two, which seems pretty accurate based on my experience. And the sponge applicators I'm using seem to clean up very easily with a little mineral spirits followed by warm water.

Does anyone know if this is for sure a water based stain? It appears to be, but I'm still very new to all this. It does settle in the can, if that helps.

Also, what is the best way to clean up the wipe-off cloths? I've used both t-shirt cloth and microfiber, but I would like to reuse the cloths. We have a septic tank, which I obviously don't want to damage with the wrong chemicals going down the drain. We also live by a river where all our runoff goes to.

So what do I do to clean the cloths? Just throw them in a bucket of mineral spirits and follow with water? Can I dump any of that in the drain?

Any advice is appreciated! Thanks!

Brent
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 Old 04-06-2013, 01:17 AM

View Steve Neul's Photo Album My Photos
Actually if it was oil based it would smell mostly like mineral spirits. I've never used it but their website says its oil based. http://rustoleum.com/CBGResourceCent...BG&msdsprc=532 Open the msds to get the details.