Rustic TV Unit and Shelves. - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 10 Old 05-02-2013, 05:43 AM Thread Starter

View colinmc8's Photo Album My Photos
Rustic TV Unit and Shelves.

Hi everyone,

I just joined here as I have read a few threads and there seems to be some knowledgeable peeps!

Before I start, I'm Colin, I live in Ireland. I'm a Carpenter/Cabinet maker and have some carving experience.

I'm making some rustic furniture for my parents. My Dad had some big pieces of Larch that came off an old boat of his. They measure 15" x 2.5" and are about 16' long.
So some very nice material for this project, there is parts with wood worm but I have tested everything.
There are two alcoves either side of a chimney breast where I am putting floating shelves and base units.

What I would like to ask you guys is:

What sort of techniques or styles of "rustifying" is there? I have done a project once for a small Chestnut door where I used a gouge to scollop out a rustic look, then went over it with a wire brush attachment in my drill then finally some antique wax. This took a lot of time for the size of it.

With the shelves I have, I beveled the front edge and went over it with a heavy sanding attachment in my angle grinder. Some of the shelves have wood worm damage quite deep in parts and I have cleaned these out with the wire brush. This leaves a great look,lots of ridges and very rustic looking. However this kind of obligates me to have the cupboard doors and everything else to look similar and this is my main challenge.

Ok so I've gone on for quite a bit here, basically what I'm looking for is a method our some examples of how to make the not so rustic parts look like the rustic parts or a way to unify them :-)

Thanks for your time.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 Old 05-02-2013, 06:35 AM
Rustic furniture

View Da Aardvark's Photo Album My Photos
Some even beat the wood with chains, and then there is the finishing techniques.