Router table or Shaper - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 22 Old 08-18-2015, 01:19 PM Thread Starter

View harvest's Photo Album My Photos
Router table or Shaper

Which do you prefer router table or shaper? I bought a Summerfeld router table a while back and not sure if I like it still. I'm new to making doors with it and having a hard time trying to cope even on it. The fence has a pin at one end and the other adjustable with a knob to tighten it down. You square it up with a straight edge like a metal ruler off the bearing on a bit.

Really can't run a coping jig on it as the fence is not straight with the edges in the aluminum table. I've tried using a push block with a board attached to it. First door did not come out to bad but not good enough either. Remember your first one lol.
Attached Images

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 22 Old 08-18-2015, 03:11 PM

View NickDIY's Photo Album My Photos
Router Table - Bits are cheaper, with more variety and easier to find than cutters.
post #3 of 22 Old 08-18-2015, 03:14 PM

View sancho's Photo Album My Photos
Rail and style bits have a bearing. What that means is the stock rides up against the bearing so you should be in good shape making cabinet doors.

Now whether a shaper would be better then a router table, it depends. Both have their advantages and disadvantages
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 22 Old 08-18-2015, 03:29 PM

View MattS's Photo Album My Photos
Ymmv - you can get reasonably cheap cutter heads for smaller spindle shapers, but most of those have such small tables that you barely gain any advantage over a high HP router. I have an old delta shaper I love using, but it's only a marginal improvement over a good router table.