Woodworking Talk banner

Router Table Fence Question

11K views 21 replies 12 participants last post by  mmwood_1 
#1 ·
Ok, I'm new to woodworking and don't have a router table yet as I'm still researching and of course buying other things for my bare shop :-( I always thought though that a router table fence was used like a table saw fence, to guide the wood in a straight line past the router bit. However today I was talking with a very experienced woodworker that told me it doesn't matter if a fence is straight.
The other thing I'm confused about is I see most (all?) DIY router fences that are one piece but watching the dvd that came with my Freud starter set of router bits they use a 2 piece router table fence and seem concerned that each section is in a straight line with the bit.
Can some of you experienced folks shed some light on these things?
Thanks, BillF

#2 ·
Dont listen to any more advice from your "experienced" woodworker friend.

Some cutters have bearings on top of them, like roundover bits. for those, you dont need any fence at all because the wood rests against the bearing as you cut the underside of the wood.

Sometimes you might want to cut a side rebate along a piece of wood. The top of the wood does not get cut so that wood MUST run along a flat surface or the cut will be as wonky as the fence. This fence can be one piece.

Sometimes you might want to make your router table pretend to be a jointer, then you need a split fence, to make the outfeed fence stick proud of the infeed fence and keep the wood straight as the bit slices the edge off.

The most versatile fence is a split fence, completely straight and vertical to the table when closed up.

#3 ·