Rounded bottom holes - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum
 5Likes
  • 1 Post By woodnthings
  • 2 Post By GeorgeC
  • 2 Post By NoThankyou

post #1 of 13 Old 11-19-2019, 03:14 PM Thread Starter

View Pistol's Photo Album My Photos
Rounded bottom holes

What's the best way to get rounded bottom holes? I've read that you can grind down a spade bit or twist bit....but I'm not clear on the grind profile for adequate cutting.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 13 Old 11-19-2019, 03:18 PM

View John Smith_inFL's Photo Album My Photos
could you explain your project a little ?
what size and how many holes ? and what kind of wood.
perhaps a drawing or sketch if you have one.

-- I am a painter. That's what I do. I paint things --
post #3 of 13 Old 11-19-2019, 03:46 PM
where's my table saw?

View woodnthings's Photo Album My Photos
Drill the hole first then .....

Use one of these as a follow up to round the bottom..... for what ever your reason is?

https://www.amazon.com/Inch-Shank-Co...a-826243573852

Tool Agnostic likes this.

The answer to your question will only be as detailed and specific as the question is detailed and specific. Good questions also include a sketch or a photo that illustrates your issue. (:< D)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 13 Old 11-19-2019, 06:44 PM Thread Starter

I'm making salt and pepper shakers. Some weird shape my daughter designed in wood shop.....uh. They have oval shaped holes. Basically like a mortise with rounded corners instead of square. Anyway, she wants the bottoms inside rounded. Of course she would want something that makes no feasible sense, but like a good dad I'm trying anyway. LOL my first though was a box core bit like you would use to make pipes, but they have a little post on the bottom.
post #5 of 13 Old 11-19-2019, 07:16 PM

View GeorgeC's Photo Album My Photos
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pistol View Post