Ripping without a table saw - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 10 Old 05-19-2010, 10:42 AM Thread Starter

View dan_ce's Photo Album My Photos
Ripping without a table saw

Hi!

I am VERY new to woodworking and have just purchased plans to make an adirondack chair. I have a jigsaw and access to a circular saw so I'm wondering how best to cut my pieces out of my material.

I've seen systems like the EZ Smart Guide and whilst that looks amazing, I am wondering if there are cheaper ways of accomplishing that same aim... I gather that to jigsaw out all the pieces would result in less than perfect edges and to circular saw them might give similar results...

Any thoughts?

P.S. I don't live anywhere near the kind of place that might be willing to do my cuts for me.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 Old 05-19-2010, 10:53 AM
Scotty D

View mdntrdr's Photo Album My Photos
For pieces of that length you should be able to get decent cuts with a circ saw.

you will have to clean up the edges.

Or you could clamp a straight edge for your saw table to follow.

Scott
OH, wait a minute ............Yep!.............That's what he said!

"Like" us on facebook
www.ScottyDsWoodworks.com
Watch Our YouTube Video
post #3 of 10 Old 05-19-2010, 11:23 AM
where's my table saw?

View woodnthings's Photo Album My Photos
I Agree

Most circular saws come with an adjustable edge guide for ripping.
Use that for your long cuts, follow up with a hand block plane to smooth the edges and chamfer them and the jigsaw for the curved ends. Some hand sanding and you should be good to go. bill

The answer to your question will only be as detailed and specific as the question is detailed and specific. Good questions also include a sketch or a photo that illustrates your issue. (:< D)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 10 Old 05-19-2010, 11:24 AM
Old School

View cabinetman's Photo Album My Photos
WELCOME TO THE FORUM