Woodworking Talk banner

Ridgid r4512 vs SawStop JobSite Pro & Contractor

21K views 68 replies 17 participants last post by  red68mgb 
#1 ·
I was thinking to save money to go with a Ridgid r4512 because I heard it was a good saw to go with for the money (cast iron top / cast iron / has wheels, etc..).

However I'm concerned about my digits and well was thinking about getting the JobSite Pro Sawstop instead.

I'm just wondering if the SawStop JobSite Pro cuts would be as accurate as the Ridgid r4512. And what if I made a solid stand for the JobSite Pro, would that help with the vibrations and what not improving the cuts?

How does the Ridgid r4512 compare to the SawStop Contractor saw? (base model without the T-glide).

EDIT: I'm a newbie woodworker. I'd like cuts accurate enough to say make a chessboard if I wanted.

#2 · (Edited)
Accurately calibrated and with a good blade installed, any of the saws you mentioned will make a fine chessboard.

I am concerned about my digits because I work on computers, play musical instruments, and I need help remembering the number that comes after "nine." :)

I had a Bosch REAXX jobsite saw, which has a safety mechanism like a SawStop. (SawStop sued them over patents and they are no longer available in the US.) I replaced it with a SawStop PCS-175 cabinet saw.

The drawbacks of a jobsite saw are:
* Short lead-in distance from the front of the saw to the blade.
* Aluminum top is not as smooth, and it scratches and dents easily.
* Typically, fences are not as good as the ones that come on larger saws.

The new SawStop Jobsite Pro saw has a 2 inch longer lead-in distance, an improved T-track style fence, and better dust collection, along with other minor changes. Those differences (especially the lead-in distance) make it worth the higher cost over the old SawStop jobsite saw. They would have to discount the old saw a lot more before I might consider it over the new one. A LOT more.