Repair suggestions for cracked farm table? - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 7 Old 03-15-2013, 01:15 PM Thread Starter

View rnd4's Photo Album My Photos
Repair suggestions for cracked farm table?

Hi -

I have zero woodworking experience and would appreciate any suggestions on how to deal with the large cracks in an old farm table I just purchased.

http://oi46.tinypic.com/21aihvm.jpg

I'd like to repair the cracks, especially as they seem fragile. I guess can live with the slight warping of the tabletop (it's not visible, but I can feel it if I run my hand across the table sideways.)

Thank you!
Attached Images

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 Old 03-15-2013, 01:24 PM

View WillemJM's Photo Album My Photos
Whoever built that should be spanked a little.

You will need woodworking experience, the BB ends (long grain across the table) will have to be cut off and re-done.

Wood expands across the grain and not along the grain, no provision was made for that.

Pure mathematics is, in it's way, the poetry of logical ideas. - Albert Einstein.
post #3 of 7 Old 03-15-2013, 03:19 PM

View Dave Paine's Photo Album My Photos
+1 with WillemJM.

The bread board ends look to have been glued across the end. The bread board end hardly moves with seasonal moisture changes, but the main table top does. At some point something has to give.

I would not recommend doing the repair as a first woodworking project.

The bread board ends need to be cut off, the table top glued back together - if it will go back together.

If the top has shrunk and will not go back together, you could rout grooves and insert inlays. The inlay will stand out, so perhaps use a contrasting wood to make it look part of the design.