Removing Paint off of a Front Door - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By Packard

post #1 of 11 Old 06-18-2019, 10:03 AM Thread Starter

View prestonwalker26's Photo Album My Photos
Removing Paint off of a Front Door

Hi all,

I am a bit of a novice in wood working and would like some advice in stripping paint off of a door. I am attempting to remove paint off of the exterior side of a front door and refinish it with some light sanding, minwax stain, and poly urethane. I am using "KWIK-STRIP" Paint stripper that I purchased from Lowes and have been following the directions written on the back of the can. I've done their process 4 times and there still is a fair amount of paint in the wood (all though there are spots where all of the paint has been completely lifted out of the wood). I'm just wondering if this is normal and it just takes a lot of time and effort in removing the paint... any advice would be great.

Also in case anyone wonders, the Door Handle hasn't been removed because the set screws are stripped (the door came from Habitat for Humanity), I'm also trying trying to figure out how to remove the hardware.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	UNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_990.jpg
Views:	10
Size:	316.3 KB
ID:	376439  

Name:	UNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_999.jpg
Views:	11
Size:	312.9 KB
ID:	376441  

Name:	UNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_99a.jpg
Views:	9
Size:	221.6 KB
ID:	376443  

Name:	UNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_99b.jpg
Views:	11
Size:	250.0 KB
ID:	376445  

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 Old 06-18-2019, 10:21 AM

View Packard's Photo Album My Photos
You will probably have to sand that last bit out and it may not be worthwhile if the door were made from a very common grade of wood. Repainting may be a better option.