Refinishing Red Oak Exterior Doors - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 5 Old 04-03-2016, 02:39 AM Thread Starter

View PESCAHOLIC's Photo Album My Photos
Question Refinishing Red Oak Exterior Doors

I'm a rookie with wood but was tasked to refinish this door-set at a beachfront home for a good friend in southern California.

I have stripped and/or sanded most of it already and have been trying to find a good match for the stain, but I still have many questions about the proper process in general.

The wood appears to be Red Oak and the wood on the left side of the door-set is darker and seems to have heavier grain than the door face itself and the wood on the right side of the door-set. The original color before I removed the finish was much heavier on the left side, too. You may be able to see a bit of what I’m referring to in the difference between the bottom of the doors (darker) and the top of the doors (lighter).

The final color is preferred to be at least as dark as the current finish and the customer prefers to stay away from red tints. As for a finish, I intend to seal it with a varnish of sorts, but remain uncertain of which specific product to use and how many coats. The customer prefers as flat of a finish as possible so I will be using a satin finish.

Meanwhile, there are a few steps in the process which remain unclear to me. I have asked around at numerous paint and woodworking stores and receive different info from each facility.
So far I have tried several colors and have used both oil and water based stains (General Finishes-oil, Zar-oil, Sansin EOS), but 2 of the 3 say they are interior stains which I’m uncomfortable using given the environment and have basically used them to find a color match.