Record Vise - Worth Buying & Repairing? - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 11 Old 04-02-2013, 10:32 AM Thread Starter

View Saxe Point's Photo Album My Photos
I can get a used Record vise (Model 52, I believe) for about $65. I understand they are great vises and are no longer made. The only problem is that the hole at the end of the main shaft/screw that holds the roll pin (I think) is broken. I am told (haven't seen the vise yet) that it would be an easy fix that involves drilling a new small hole to put the pin into and that there is room on the shaft to do so. The vise is otherwise fine apparently.

Is this an easy repair and one that is worthwhile doing? Any other concerns I should have? I am a novice and this will be my first vise. Any advice based on your knowledge and experience would be greatly appreciated.

Last edited by Saxe Point; 04-02-2013 at 10:38 AM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 Old 04-02-2013, 10:41 AM

View Dave Paine's Photo Album My Photos
If a hole is broken, it infers the shaft broke.

Without pictures, we are not able to understand whether the repair is easy or not worth the trouble.

FYI, you can get a new vise from Grizzly for less than the asking price of this fixer-upper.

http://www.grizzly.com/products/category/590020
The Following User Says Thank You to Dave Paine For This Useful Post:
Woodwart (04-02-2013)
post #3 of 11 Old 04-02-2013, 11:15 AM

View Fred Hargis's Photo Album My Photos