Reclaimed Oak Table Question!!!! - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By jcox1978

post #1 of 5 Old 12-08-2016, 01:39 PM Thread Starter

View jcox1978's Photo Album My Photos
Reclaimed Oak Table Question!!!!

I have to admit I'm totally new to woodworking!!! However we built a new house last year and my wife found a table idea on Pintrest. I consider myself pretty handy so I made the table out of some 150 year old reclaimed oak from a barn that was taken apart and stacked neatly (outside). Long story short, it turned out much better than I had anticipated and I have since built another one for a family member.

My question is when assembling the table top, there are no gap between the boards, when taken into the house the wood "moves and changes" and gaps form. Is this because of moisture? I should also say, the oaks table boards are 2-3/8"thick x 9-1/4"wide and if they want to move it doesn't seem like I can stop them.

The reason I ask this question, I have had inquiries from other people that want to pay me to build them one. I don't want to take money if I can't guarantee that the table will stay the same as it is when I give it to them.

I have a attached some pictures of the 2 I have already done, would be anxious to see what everyone thinks about them?

Looking forward to getting some input.

-J
Keep in mind I have never done any type of woodworking before this.( not even as much as a shop class in high school)
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0763.jpg
Views:	79
Size:	90.8 KB
ID:	267330  

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1506.jpg
Views:	77
Size:	97.4 KB
ID:	267338  

Attached Images

meserj likes this.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 Old 12-08-2016, 09:23 PM

View Steve Neul's Photo Album My Photos