Rail and stile router order of operations - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum
 6Likes
  • 1 Post By Quickstep
  • 2 Post By GeorgeC
  • 3 Post By BigJim
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 Old 07-03-2020, 06:26 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
furnacefighter15's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Location: Batavia IL (West Chicago Burb)
Posts: 248
View furnacefighter15's Photo Album My Photos
Rail and stile router order of operations

The parts that will have both a tongue on the short side and a groove on the broad side, which gets done first?

Short tongue, or groove?

Or does it not matter?

I usually do mission style doors with a dado blade, but I want to try out a router bit set I bought.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Dave H
furnacefighter15 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 Old 07-03-2020, 08:37 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 3,013
View Quickstep's Photo Album My Photos
I do the tongue part of the rails first so that if there's any tearout when it passes the router bit, the tearout will get removed when the groove is routed on the stiles.
furnacefighter15 likes this.
Quickstep is offline  
post #3 of 9 Old 07-03-2020, 09:19 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Florida Panhandle
Posts: 12,371
View GeorgeC's Photo Album My Photos
It really does not matter.


Those are separate operations using different bits.


George
BigJim and NoThankyou like this.
GeorgeC is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 9 Old 07-03-2020, 09:45 PM
Ole Woodworker
 
BigJim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Chattanooga, Tennessee
Posts: 4,612
View BigJim's Photo Album My Photos
If there is tear out on the rails, use a sacrificial board behind it so the cutter cuts into the sacrificial piece and not burr or chip the rail on the exit. If you haven't used a rail and stile cutter set you might want to experiment a little. I always had to make my rails 13/16" longer to make up for the cut on the ends. If not the rails will be too short. You may already know that though.

http://www.diychatroom.com/

BigJim

Anything is possible IF you don't know what you are talking about.
BigJim is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to BigJim For This Useful Post:
furnacefighter15 (07-03-2020)
post #5 of 9 Old 07-10-2020, 11:23 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
furnacefighter15's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Location: Batavia IL (West Chicago Burb)
Posts: 248
View furnacefighter15's Photo Album My Photos
I tried it with some scrap, but the fitment of the parts is pretty sloppy. I fiddled with the shim settings on the bit that makes the tongue's, and got the fitment better, but still less then desirable.

Is this just the way it is, or do I just have a crappy bit set? Also, seems there is always a little bit of shoulder to remove from the tongue to get a clean shoulder.

If its the set, who makes a good set?

Sent from my SM-G930V using Tapatalk

Dave H
furnacefighter15 is offline  
post #6 of 9 Old 07-11-2020, 12:50 PM
Senior Member
 
Rebelwork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Odessa,MO
Posts: 1,742
View Rebelwork's Photo Album My Photos
It the cabinet shop and me as well, run the ends first then the lengths. It helps with tear out...
Attached Images
 

Last edited by Rebelwork; 07-11-2020 at 12:56 PM.
Rebelwork is offline  
post #7 of 9 Old 07-11-2020, 01:06 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
furnacefighter15's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Location: Batavia IL (West Chicago Burb)
Posts: 248
View furnacefighter15's Photo Album My Photos
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rebelwork View Post
It the cabinet shop and me as well, run the ends first then the lengths. It helps with tear out...

Who’s bits do you use?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Dave H
furnacefighter15 is offline  
post #8 of 9 Old 07-11-2020, 01:16 PM
Senior Member
 
Rebelwork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Odessa,MO
Posts: 1,742
View Rebelwork's Photo Album My Photos
Not sure which shaper cutters we used on Weaver shapers at Alco cabinets nor at Regency Cabinets. That was many moons ago.

At home shop I usd Freud and Amana. Usully Amana as there cutters last twice as long...
Rebelwork is offline  
post #9 of 9 Old 07-11-2020, 01:20 PM
Senior Member
 
Rebelwork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Odessa,MO
Posts: 1,742
View Rebelwork's Photo Album My Photos
Have a set of porter cable cutters that work okay too..I've used them just in the portable router with success.....
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20200711_121806_1594488032238.jpg
Views:	5
Size:	322.9 KB
ID:	392245  

Rebelwork is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome