question on router bits. - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum
 12Likes

post #1 of 41 Old 01-05-2019, 09:59 PM Thread Starter

View tewitt1949's Photo Album My Photos
question on router bits.

I've been doing working for many years using router bits. One thing I've never thought about is when you going to do a tongue and groove in a board, if you put the groove but in the board, bottoming the bit all the way down into the collet, are bits made so you can bottom the next bit and it will line up exactually right. Sorry I didn't say that very good. I'll try again.

when using a matched set of router bits like in the below picture. If you put the first bit bottomed in the collet, and then if you bottom the second bit, should it come out right or do you have to adjust each bit individually?

I adjust the first bit to where I want it, then change bits and adjust the router up or down to get it where it matches the first cut. It would be much easier if I could just put the second bit in and go. I don't know if the bit are ground to he correct length or not.

Sorry if I still don't make any sense.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	router bit.JPG
Views:	64
Size:	44.9 KB
ID:	370141  

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 41 Old 01-05-2019, 10:19 PM
Master firewood maker

View Chris Curl's Photo Album My Photos
I suppose you could measure them ... ? That might tell you something.

... turning perfectly good wood into firewood every day ... :smile3:
post #3 of 41 Old 01-06-2019, 01:50 AM
An experienced novice

View GuitarPhotographer's Photo Album My Photos
In my experience, no they are not the same heights. And you shouldn't bottom out the shaft in the collet to begin with, that can cause the bit to loosen as you run it. When you get the rail bit set how you want it, make some reference pieces from the same material. Then when you want to set the stile bit, use the reference pieces to set the height.