Question on Miter saw - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum
 5Likes

post #1 of 26 Old 08-05-2020, 11:31 AM Thread Starter

View onesourceusa@gmail.c's Photo Album My Photos
Question Question on Miter saw

I am new to this hobby. Should I buy a sliding or compound miter saw if I am also buying a table saw. Thanks!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 26 Old 08-05-2020, 11:46 AM

View John Smith_inFL's Photo Album My Photos
welcome to the forum, what part of the world are you in ?
what kind of projects do you think you will be making the most ?
my suggestion is always to buy the big ticket items as you need them.
not on impulse.

B Coll likes this.

there is no educational alternative to having a front row seat in the School of Hard Knocks.

Last edited by John Smith_inFL; 08-05-2020 at 11:50 AM.
post #3 of 26 Old 08-05-2020, 01:44 PM

View kiwi_outdoors's Photo Album My Photos
well, my Bosch slider is also compound. Which I like.

Retired engineer-bureaucrat in Oakland, CA. Been working with wood since the 1960's. From the 50's if you count the scrap woodpile on the farm!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 26 Old 08-05-2020, 02:00 PM

View Rebelwork's Photo Album My Photos
It depends on a lot of things. Room,need, projects you build, etc.

Only you know...Anybody here will be glad to spend your money..Again....it all depends
The Following User Says Thank You to Rebelwork For This Useful Post:
[email protected] (08-06-2020)
post #5 of 26 Old 08-05-2020, 02:14 PM

View Tool Agnostic's Photo Album My Photos
@John Smith_inFL is right. What project do you want to build first? Buy the tool(s) that you need for it first.

Rip cuts make a long board thinner. Crosscuts make a long board shorter. Table saws excel at rip cuts and are also used to make crosscuts. Miter saws are faster and more convenient for crosscuts (especially at angles other than 90 degrees). Miter saws cannot make rip cuts.

Most woodworkers start with a table saw.