Question about selecting a router - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 6 Old 12-10-2010, 01:25 AM Thread Starter

View dawilliams's Photo Album My Photos
Smile Question about selecting a router

Hello,

I am new to woodworking. I am planning on buying a router to eventually get enough practice before I start making my own kitchen cupboards for my home.

I did a lot of reading up and it seems that all signs indicate that Festool Routers provide the best value for your money when it comes to quality and durability.

I don't want to throw money at an overkill (its for personal use), but at the same time I don't want to buy something that will fall apart after 1 year (because I dont want to spend the money twice). That being said, I have been looking at the Festool OF 2200 EB Router because it seems like a workhorse that will stick with me through thick and thin. However, the price is significantly higher than everything else I see.

So my goal is simple, learn routing and get a machine that is easy on the learning curve and one that is durable enough for me to make my own kitchen re-design and maybe a few other around the house projects.

Can someone recommend a router for me and a suitable table?

Also, what are some of the major things that I should be looking for when buying a router...i.e. what are some of the "must have" that should come with the box.

Thanks for your help folks.

DW
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 Old 12-10-2010, 05:42 AM
The village amadán.

View Mr Mac's Photo Album My Photos
Porter Cable makes some pretty decent routers that cost a bit less than the Festool models and seem to last for a very long time. Hey, if they're good enough for Norm (who also can be seen with Bosch) then they should be good for the likes of me!

But the wisdom that is from above is first pure, then peaceable, gentle, and easy to be intreated, full of mercy and good fruits, without partiality, and without hypocrisy. James 3:17