Question about Sanding - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 10 Old 08-26-2013, 08:19 PM Thread Starter

View deadherring's Photo Album My Photos
Question about Sanding

Hey everyone,

I'm new to woodworking and am in the process of getting my shop set up. Just finished installing the Incra TS/LS fence system on my old table saw (woohoo!), finished routing the slot for the router plate in another table and have a miter station set up as well.

I was wondering about sanding. I've watched a lot of woodworking programming on youtube and Old Yankee etc. Although I am still a beginner, I've noticed that the oscillating spindle sander gets used alot to refine cuts and "bring them to the line" such as after cuts on the bandsaw etc. The only sanding device I have right now is an orbital sander. I was wondering how critical a spindle sander is to woodworking. It would seem to me having a way to cut "before the line" and then use a sander to "take it down to the line" would help a great deal with exactness. Also noticed that home depot carries an edge sander: http://www.homedepot.com/p/RIDGID-Os...1#.UhviDBvbPIW

Would that do the job as well? If one did not have such a tool what would one use? Seems pretty critical to me.

Thanks!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 Old 08-26-2013, 08:54 PM

View yank's Photo Album My Photos
For something like you are thinking about, consider the drill press spindle sanding drum selections. I use those for curves and circles. They have different sizes and different grits, and fit in the chuck of the drill press, bench or floor models. If irc I got mine at Harbor Freight.

http://www.rockler.com/product.cfm?p...8&site=ROCKLER

My father was my inspiration for woodworking, wish he was still around for more advice. Luv ya Dad.
post #3 of 10 Old 08-26-2013, 10:48 PM

View Steve Neul's Photo Album My Photos