Quality Woods - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 21 Old 07-22-2015, 10:59 AM Thread Starter

View bryanp's Photo Album My Photos
Quality Woods

So I am new to this site and actually seeked out a woodworking site for this question. I do a lot of wood working projects and am tired of doing them with lumber from Home Depot. It seems like whatever I do to make projects look professional, the cuts/warps/splits/knots/etc of the wood from HD and Lowes makes it impossible.

I live in the Tampa Bay area and would love some advice on where to go to get lumber that doesn't suck. I am a novice wood worker and do understand that part of my issue is in fact my own limitations. I also understand that with that being the case, I need all the help I can get from good wood that is cut straight! ha

I look forward to hearing from you guys and also getting to know you and being on the forum. Wood working is a passion of mine and there is not a weekend that goes by without wood and saws being a part of it.

Any responses would be great, and as a new member and an amateur builder, I would also love if anyone would post some great threads to check out for my pleasure and learning!

Thanks guys!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 21 Old 07-22-2015, 01:07 PM
cps

View cps's Photo Album My Photos
Welcome to the site. If you can afford it, get a jointer and planer and buy rough lumber. I did my first few projects with Lowes lumber. I quickly realized I would end up saving money by milling down rough lumber. I think these have been my best woodworking investments so far.
post #3 of 21 Old 07-22-2015, 01:16 PM

View Stevedore's Photo Album My Photos
I agree with CPS; a jointer & planer gives you the capability of buying rough lumber (less expensive!), and will allow you to repurpose previously used hardwood. I've scrounged old furniture at the curb during the local "cleanup week", and recently cleaned up a bunch of oak & walnut from a piano that we needed to get rid of.