Quality of Grizzley Tools - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 19 Old 12-09-2012, 11:50 AM Thread Starter

View Roundup85's Photo Album My Photos
Quality of Grizzley Tools

I am a hobby Woodworker and wanting to add to my tools and needing some things for my Christmas list. . Saw the Grizzly brand of tools and wanted some feedback on quality and durability of this specific brand. Looking at a Drill press, Bandsaw, and possibly a Jointer. Does anybody have these and do they work OK? Thanks for your help.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 19 Old 12-09-2012, 12:01 PM

View Dave Paine's Photo Album My Photos
Like many brands, you may get a spectrum of responses.

I have purchased a few Grizzly tools over the years such as my first 14in bandsaw, and its replacement a G0513 17in bandsaw. Sold the first one to a friend. I wanted more power and cut capacity.

I have not had a problem with these tools. I have read where others have been impressed with Grizzly Tech support.

I usually consider Grizzly when shopping for tools.

I have also read where people had problems, but this is infrequent.

Grizzly started out with machines made in Taiwan, and the same factory as other brands.

A lot of Grizzly machines are now sourced from mainland China. Many manufacturers are now sourcing from mainland China.

If you are within driving distance of a Grizzly showroom, I would recommend you drive to pick up the machine.

A common problem across all manufacturers is common carrier shipping of the heavy tools. This is the most likely cause of damage. If you can pick up at the showroom the machine should not be damaged.
post #3 of 19 Old 12-09-2012, 12:02 PM

View croaker's Photo Album My Photos
I have a jointer and a couple of sanders that are grizzly.
I am very pleased with them.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 19 Old 12-09-2012, 12:30 PM

View toolguy1000's Photo Album My Photos