Protection for large project during transportation for delivery - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum
 3Likes
  • 1 Post By Tony B
  • 2 Post By woodnthings

post #1 of 8 Old 09-04-2019, 07:38 PM Thread Starter

View caberto's Photo Album My Photos
Protection for large project during transportation for delivery

Hi all,

I am new here, but have visited sometimes while looking for information during a browser search.

I am fairly new to what I would call “real” woodworking, though I’ve been making things with wood off and on for many years, but certainly not at a high or even decent quality level. However, I’m starting to delve into more of that aspect now and am learning a lot; there is much to learn, and looks like it's a lifelong learning experience. As a result, I have had “customers” request specific custom items made for them for purchase.

I have looked for an answer to my question but can’t seem to find anything related… so here it is:

I have just finished two twin beds for a customer, and will attach the rails to the headboards and footboards onsite using the already installed brackets. My question is, how do you wrap, or otherwise protect the individual pieces for something this size during transportation for delivery. I have a good, clean crew-cab pickup I will be using for delivery.

I’m thinking moving blankets for between the different pieces, but wanted to get some input from those who have done this before – thank you in advance!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 Old 09-04-2019, 09:34 PM

View Tony B's Photo Album My Photos
I have rolled the the rails in a moving blanket and used stretch wrap on the ends. Lay blanket on floor and lay one rail on it. Roll blanket to where the rail is completely covered, then lay next rail on it and continue rolling till all is covered. Use stretch wrap on end and center also if you think you need to.
Tool Agnostic likes this.

Tony B