Prevent wood from pulling away from my tablesaw fence when ripping? - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 27 Old 06-12-2012, 11:18 PM Thread Starter

View chirpfarm's Photo Album My Photos
Prevent wood from pulling away from my tablesaw fence when ripping?

So I've been working on a chessboard for my little brother. When ripping 2" wide strips of 4/4 maple and walnut, the wood pulls away from the fence by about 1/8" Before starting, I checked to make sure that the blade was parallel to both the miter tracks and the fence (FYI - the TS is a stock Ridgid 4512). I got the strips as even as possible with a router sled and then glued them up similar to a cutting board. I then cross-cut the glue-up without any of the pull-away problems I had when ripping. How do I prevent the crooked cut when ripping? This seems like a dumb question, but I'm a rookie...
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 27 Old 06-12-2012, 11:26 PM

View Dave66's Photo Album My Photos
Assuming that your fence is parallel to the blade, you may be pushing the board too close to the fence. Ideally, you should push right at the spot where the blade will come thru the wood. Since that's not a really good idea, try pushing with both hands applying even pressure on either side of the blade path. A small amount of extra pressure on the offcut side can also keep the board in contact with the fence.
post #3 of 27 Old 06-12-2012, 11:43 PM
where's my table saw?

View woodnthings's Photo Album My Photos
ripping....it's a little tricky

The best results start with a very sharp blade free of gum and pitch.

The fence must be parallel to the miter slot and the blade must be parallel to the miter slot and therefore they are parallel to one another.

A feather board can be used in front of the teeth on the blade to maintain pressure against the fence.

A riving knife or splitter should be used when making rips.

A push BLOCK or SHOE is better than a push STICK.