Poly on wood - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 4 Old 09-18-2014, 08:34 AM Thread Starter

View JOHNPUTNAM's Photo Album My Photos
Poly on wood

Recently added a layer of poly to my coffee table in an effort to protect against water stains and dog claws. It looks like crap! It's so obvious that I simply added a layer of "plastic" and ruins the looks and feel of the wood. Any advice for next time? Oils? Grease? What. ? I'm new to real furniture ownership.

Sent from my iPhone using woodworkingtalk.com
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 4 Old 09-18-2014, 08:47 AM
Wood Snob

View Al B Thayer's Photo Album My Photos
Quote:
Originally Posted by JOHNPUTNAM
Recently added a layer of poly to my coffee table in an effort to protect against water stains and dog claws. It looks like crap! It's so obvious that I simply added a layer of "plastic" and ruins the looks and feel of the wood. Any advice for next time? Oils? Grease? What. ? I'm new to real furniture ownership.

Sent from my iPhone using woodworkingtalk.com
Wiping varnish. 4 to 6 coats. Rub it out. Paste wax. Train the dog and children to use coasters.

Poly has been shoved down our throats as if the wood requires a Ft Knox strength finish and we raise monsters in the home. Who's the boss?

Al

post #3 of 4 Old 09-18-2014, 01:09 PM
Village Idiot

View epicfail48's Photo Album My Photos