4Likes
  • 1 Post By Toolman50
  • 1 Post By GeneT
  • 1 Post By allpurpose
  • 1 Post By Steve Neul

post #1 of 20 Old 05-23-2016, 04:43 PM Thread Starter

View jtiffany83's Photo Album My Photos
Pneumatic Nail Guns

I'm new to building furniture and have always used screws and the kreg jigs and screws to build tables and bed frames. But, I received a Rigid 2 1/2" angled finisher nailer for my birthday and I want to know if that can be used to build furniture? Or, is there a better pneumatic nailer to use while building furniture.

Thanks for all the help.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 20 Old 05-23-2016, 05:32 PM

View Toolman50's Photo Album My Photos
Jtiffany83,
I sold pneumatic nailing and stapling equipment for many years so I'm very pro nail guns. Having said that, there is very little use for a 2 1/2" nailer when building fine furniture. It can be used for Rustic furniture. The 2 1/2" nailer (1 1/4"-2 1/2") is primarily used to trim out a house for most all interior trim. Base mold, crown mold, closet shelving, window and door trim.
Homemade kitchen and bath cabinetry.
It's a great tool, but just not on fine furniture.
sweensdv likes this.

If you don't have time to do it right the first time, when will you have time to do it over?

Last edited by Toolman50; 05-23-2016 at 05:33 PM. Reason: Spelling
post #3 of 20 Old 05-23-2016, 06:55 PM
Really underground garage

View BWSmith's Photo Album My Photos
Plus 1 to above.Brad nailers occasionally,pin nailers a little more.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 20 Old 05-23-2016, 07:44 PM
Nine Thumbs

View Shop_Rat's Photo Album My Photos
Plus Two above. I have all of them from framing to pin. I use my 18 gauge brad nailer ten fold more than anything else. But the 2 1/2" is second to none for trimming out a house post haste!

Another $000,000,000.02 worth of advice,
Mark
post #5 of 20 Old 05-23-2016, 08:48 PM
Raindrop Counter

View Jammersix's Photo Album My Photos