Plywood floon in screened porch - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 6 Old 07-26-2009, 09:59 PM Thread Starter

View mccarrison's Photo Album My Photos
Unhappy Plywood floon in screened porch

I'm a newbie to your forum and I'm afraid I have no knowledge to share, but I'm hoping some of you will be kind enough to give me some good advice.

I recently bought a house with a screened porch built on the back (off the kitchen). It is about 4 feet off the ground and has lattice work between the porch floor and the ground. It's completely covered by a roof and is screened in on the 3 sides not attached to the house.

The plywood floor was painted with gray deck paint, but the paint is peeling and when it rains, water puddles on the deck. The plywood won't last long this way and I want to do something to make the situation better. I've thought about using concrete leveler on the plywood and then finishing it with the product that is used on garage floors.--that stuff you roller on and put black/gray flecks on top and seal.

My objective is to make the floor of the screen porch easy to clean and waterproof. Can you offer any suggestions?? I'm so clueless.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 Old 07-26-2009, 10:03 PM

View jraksdhs's Photo Album My Photos
hmmm

How is water puddling on the floor if there is a roof? If it were me I'd fix the water issues and maybe replace the floor with PT deck boards. Posting some pics would probably be a good idea. good luck
post #3 of 6 Old 07-26-2009, 10:08 PM

View Tony B's Photo Album My Photos
"...............It's completely covered by a roof and is screened in on the 3 sides not attached to the house."

Just a wild guess, but I think the rain is coming through the screening.

Tony B Retired woodworker, among other things.

"Strive for excellence and settle for completion" Tony B
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 6 Old 07-26-2009, 10:23 PM Thread Starter

View mccarrison's Photo Album My Photos